What is HACCP Means

 What is HACCP Certification Means

HACCP Certification stands for Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point, but what does that really mean? This online food safety course will give you an in depth analysis of different techniques to help you fully understand.

Simply knowing what the acronym stands for isn't going to help you very much, whether you are a business owner, manager or employee. Our HACCP training course will give you a priceless set skills that will help you prosper as service industry employee.

 The Principles of HACCP are

The online HACCP food safety training course will explain and help you understand the 7 HACCP principles. By understanding these principles, you will be able to better identify, as well as prevent hazardous conditions that may arise as a result of the production of food.

Avoiding hazardous conditions is extremely important in the food industry. By understanding the 7 principles of HACCP training, you will be armed with numerous strategies to help keep your employees informed and your customers safe.

 Implement a Food Safety Plan

The ability to stop problems before they happen is an asset that is priceless in any industry. With the threat of food-borne illness occurring in the preparation of your restaurant's food, having a set of guidelines for dealing with issues before, during and after they occur is imperative.
This food safety course will give you the necessary training to ensure that your restaurant has a plan to not only deal with problems that do occur, but also to prevent problems from happening in the first place

HACCP Training Objectives

By the time you finish this course you will be able to:
  •   Identify the causes of food borne illness
  •   Identify the key points of HACCP
  •   Explain the 7 HACCP principles
  •   Follow prerequisite programs for food safety
  •   Apply standard operating procedures for food safety and food defense in your operation
  •   Identify the three classifications of recipes
  •   Determine critical control points
  •   Apply critical control limits
  •   Complete monitoring forms
  •   Determine effective corrective actions

How to determine and apply critical control points

A critical control point is essentially a guideline or procedure where certain control measures can be implemented and an accident can be avoided, reduced down to acceptable, or critical, levels or even eliminated completely. The HACCP course will provide owners, management and employees with a very strong set of guidelines, which will help to identify problems in food preparation such as physical, biological and chemical hazards.


HACCP, or the Hazard Analysis Critical Control Point system, is a process control system that identifies where food safety hazards may occur in a food production process and puts into place stringent controls to prevent the hazards from occurring. By strictly monitoring and controlling each step of the process, there is less chance for hazards to occur and in this way a food business is able to assure the safety of the food products they produce.

HACCP is used internationally and has been adopted by the joint FAO/WHO Food Standards Programmer as the best approach to take to control food borne disease.Essentially, it is a food safety system consisting of two main components: the pre-requisite programs and the HACCP plan.

HACCP can be applied to all businesses throughout the food chain and forms the basis of a proactive food safety management system.  When effectively implemented, HACCP will control biological, physical, chemical and allergen hazards within a food operation.

Implementing a HACCP plan helps assure regulatory authorities and customers that the food business is taking every reasonable precaution to assure food safety. As a proactive approach to managing food safety, it also helps reduce contamination-related food losses and associated costs, and will protect and enhance brands and private labels.

There is no internationally recognized auditing standard for HACCP and while all seven HACCP principles are included in the ISO 22000 standard, HACCP can be implemented as a separate risk management system, or as part of a certification to ISO 9000.

Prerequisites include measures to control the following basic environmental operating conditions:
  1.  Cleaning and Disinfection
  2.  Maintenance
  3.  Personnel Hygiene and Training
  4.  Pest Control
  5.  Plant and Equipment
  6.  Premises and Structure
  7.  Services (compressed air, ice, steam, ventilation, water etc.)
  8.  Storage, Distribution and Transport
  9.  Waste Management
  10.  Zoning (physical separation of activities to prevent potential food contamination

HACCP principles may offer you the following other advantages:
  • Reduction in product loss
  • Increase in product quality
  • Better control of product inventory
  • Consistency in product preparation
  • Increase in profit

Access denied for user 'i3346380_wp15'@'localhost' to database 'i3346380_wp15'